Heron Lake-Okabena Community Foundation Endowment Fund
Project for Southwest Initiative Foundation

An affiliate of the Southwest Initiative Foundation, the Heron Lake-Okabena Community Foundation benefits the HL-O area in Minnesota.

Mission Statement 

To enrich the community by promoting education and opportunities in the hope of creating a legacy of pride and partnership.

Grant total since inception (including grants made for operating expenses): $148,111

Fiscal Year 2017 Grantmaking  

Awarded grants totaling $24,947, including:

City of Brewster to support the Brewster Veteran's Memorial project

Heron Lake Library to purchase a popcorn machine, pizza oven, microwave and compact refrigerator/freezer

ISD #330 - Heron Lake-Okabena:

  • for a classroom renovation at the high school
  • for choir apparel and shop equipment for the industrial arts department
  • for industrial art items
  • for kitchen staff and agriculture department to create a garden to supplement fresh foods for student lunches
  •  for materials for the baseball concession stand, ovens for the home economics room   and a bench sander for the industrial arts department
  • to purchase 30 choir room chairs
  • to replace outdated sewing machines in the FACS program
  • to start replacing football equipment
  • to take all high school students bowling and ice skating for physical education class
  • to update the non-fiction section of the elementary school library

LaCrosse Loyal Workers 4-H Club for a mock emergency drill to teach elementary students how to make a 911 call and about ATV, fire, electrical, internet and food safety

Lutheran Social Service to support the Meals on Wheels program in Heron Lake and Okabena

Okabena Legion Post #608 for new legion baseball team equipment

Heron Lake Fire Department to install a heating and cooling system in the new Heron Lake fire department building 

Local Contact Information 

Heron Lake-Okabena Community Foundation
PO Box 97
Okabena, MN 56161
Telephone: (507) 793-2582
Follow us on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/HLOCF)

Board Members  

  • Collette Diemer, Chair
  • Terri Pelzel, Vice-Chair
  • Margaret (Mitz) Diemer, Secretary
  • Tracy Freking, Treasurer
  • Amy R. Bang
  • Alexa Johnson
  • Bardene Peter
  • Annie Rasche
  • Julianne Volk
  • Carrissa Haberman
  • Jacqueline Baumgard
  • Hannah Stenzel

© 2018 GiveMN | A registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.